Cardenio Online Hubbub Thursday, May 22, 2008: Your Cardenio

As part of the Cardenio project, Stephen Greenblatt has given support to companies around the world for them to produce their own adaptations of the Cardenio story from Cervantes’ Don Quixote. If you were to adapt the story, what would your play be?

“I really liked the one I saw. I’ve always loved the mistaken identities. I also think it might be fun to do some heavy confusion and remorse (a la Hamlet/Macbeth), but have it be all a misunderstanding (the person is confused and remorseful about something that actually had no effect – like stabbing a scarecrow dummy put in a bed so the target it replaced could go out partying)” -Tommy S

“I was intrigued that Don Quixote wanders away during the recounting of the story, leaving his companions (the priest and the barber) to be the hearers. I might find a way to work that aspect into the drama, perhaps even having the Don Quixote character have another emblematic adventure whilst wandering away.” – Swrfer

Comments are closed.

