Introducing the 2008-09 season

Now that we have announced the A.R.T.’s 2008-09 season, and I wanted to share with you some of my thoughts as I assembled these seven productions. I hope you’ll agree that it’s a terrific line-up, consisting of seven very different theatrical experiences–new plays and classics, comedies and dramas, great epics and chamber pieces, with a healthy dose of spectacle and politics, heartbreak and whimsy.

I’m particularly glad that the season features so many young artists – writers, directors, designers from an emerging generation, who renew the theatre with their fresh eyes and fresh voices. It’s also a season with an unprecedented number of female artists; four of these plays are written by women, and three staged by women directors.

The season has great roles for the A.R.T. acting company and fine projects for our resident directors, Marcus Stern and Scott Zigler. It’s also a pleasure to welcome back two old friends, Anna Deavere Smith and Aurélia Thierrée, both virtuosic performers and international legends. In short, there’s something here for everyone – and I hope you’ll plan to join us for the entire season.

Over the coming days I’ll be introducing each production in greater detail. Please write and let us know what you think. Your feedback is very important to us.

-Gideon Lester

Comments are closed.

