Cardenio Online Hubbub Friday, May 16, 2008: Weddings Gone Awry

We’ve asked our audience to reveal their best stories of weddings gone awry. What stories do you have?

“My spouse and I had agreed to be responsible for getting our nephew’s parents and three younger siblings to synagogue on time for the 1PM reception and 2PM ceremony.  When we arrived at the house at 8AM, my sister-in-law was finishing sewing my niece’s maid-of-honor dress.  She had ripped the sleeve off her own dress, and not started alterations on the other dress she might wear for the wedding.  My then-10 year old nephew had given himself a haircut; it looked like he’d had a tussle with a lawn mower.  My other nephew had dress pants that were four inches too short, and my brother-in-law was nowhere to be found.  My niece was also refusing to go to the wedding because she had no more temporary contacts left, and wasn’t willing to wear her glasses.    After assessing all the various problems, my spouse and I divvied up what needed to be done and who needed what kinds of help.  We spent the next five hours in focused activity, looking calm and getting people to get things done.  We succeeded in getting this dysfunctional family to the synagogue at 1:10PM; we were still in shorts and T-shirts (I changed into my wedding dress in the synagogue bathroom).    Amazingly, everything went off pretty well after that, but I’ll never forget being in that house that pre-wedding morning, handling crazy people so that they could go to their own son’s wedding.” -Eve G.

“I once went to a wedding where the bride’s mother and the groom’s mother got into a fistfight.” -GeorgeC

 

Comments are closed.

