Elections & Erections Online Talkback: Friday, May 2, 2008 8:00PM

“I think it’s amazing that [Pieter] has devoted his life to bringing awareness of the plight of people in So Africa to everyone.  I think he is very brave and courageous to have done this…My friends and I know people from South Africa or that have lived and worked in South Africa who have told us what a beautiful country it is.  The temporary visitors were aware of the continuing problems there but not to the extent that Pieter-Dirk Uys reported.  The people who were known to have lived there defended the way of life, which was very interesting.” – Happy theatre-goer

“Thank you for your courage. The performance was compelling. Uys’ honesty, humane presence, and awareness of human failings —narcissism, greed, ignorance and the stupor of denial, create an experience rather than a performance.” – Martha N.

And from Wednesday’s performance…

“You are a terrific, amazing, most convincing actor. My South African friends have told me for years that we must see your show. My wife and I finally did. What a tour de force.  I just hope that we will not be able to lend you Barack Obama for the next eight years…in the meantime you should be president!! Outstanding. Great conversations followed the performance and still do. Mr. Uys’ courage and honesty makes the play real and so meaningful.  Whenever he returns to Cambridge/Boston we plan to see him again and again.” – Carlos N

 

Comments are closed.