juggling

Sorry it’s been a bit since I last wrote! One of the most difficult things about being an actor is that you always need about five other jobs on top of acting. I teach acting full time at the Boston Conservatory and part time at Suffolk University, and now that school has started up again, I’ve been quite busy: Classes all day, and then the show at night, riding my bike in the ice from school to school to theatre. I think about Heisenberg’s trek thru a ruined Germany on his bike at the end of the play to see his wife and children and realize that I have nothing to complain about.

I’m also working on writing a new play, The Hotel Nepenthe, which will go up at the little black box at BoCo (that’s what we call Boston Conservatory for short) the weekend after we close Copenhagen. It’s a play I wrote for my senior class to perform and I’m quite excited about it. It’s about this malevolent Hotel that contains passages to other universes, where the characters exist in different ways. Sort of David Lynch meets “The Shining”. I’m directing/writing the play/running the sound board/pretty much everything else! It’s exhausting but I’m very excited about it. The students are wonderful, quite talented actors. It’s been a real pleasure working with them.

Somedays I teach 8 hours and then do the show, which is just back-breaking. It’s a great deal of talking, this play, and I have my steam inhaler in the dressing room when my voice becomes dry (happening a lot lately, with the cold weather!) I keep rewarding myself with chocolate afterwards, which might be a dangerous habit for my waistline if I keep it up! I’d hate to have my Heisenberg suit let out!

The show is starting to settle as we become more confident with our lines. Karen worried last week that the tension had lessened a bit in the living room scene, now that we were less tense ourselves. Hard to tell the difference sometimes! The play really requires constant vigilance. You can never become too comfortable. It’s been quite rewarding so far, and people seem to really enjoy the production/recognize the difficulty of performing it. I absolutely LOVE performing in the Loeb: it’s a wonderful space, and the energy is very positive all around. I feel quite lucky and proud of the production.

Talk to you soon!

Johnny

Comments are closed.

