Introducing the 07/08 Season

As I hope you’ve seen, we’ve now announced the A.R.T.’s 2007-08 season. I’m incredibly excited about these eight projects, I wanted to take this opportunity to explain some of the choices I made in putting it together.

The key factor for me was to bring you as wide a range of theatrical experiences as possible, from classics to world premieres, from shows built from scratch at the A.R.T. to guest productions of international renown, from opera and drama to comedy and political satire. I wanted to showcase the work of the A.R.T.’s wonderful resident actors and directors, but also to introduce you to some new artists whose work I find very exciting. I wanted to create a season that built on the A.R.T.’s 28-year legacy of innovation and artistry, and also to expand our programming into some new territory. Above all I hoped to assemble a season that would rouse your curiosity and excitement; forgive the cliché, but I wanted there to be something here for everyone. I hope you agree that we’ve succeeded!

I’ll be writing about each of the productions in more detail in future posts. In the meantime, please do let us know what you think – this blog is a dialogue, and your feedback and response is very important to us.

-Gideon Lester


Comments are closed.

